The art of keeping secrets / Rachael Johns.

Little secrets grow up to be big lies... They've been best friends since their sons started high school together, and Felicity, Emma and Neve share everything... or so they thought. But Flick's seemingly perfect marriage hides a shocking secret which, with one word, threatens to destroy her and her...

Full description

Main Author: Johns, Rachael,
Published: Don Mills, Ontario : Mira, [2017]
Edition: Revised text edition.
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Review by Booklist Review

The bond between Flick, Neve, and Emma blossomed as their sons grew up, but even best friends keep secrets from one another. Johns explores the women's inner lives, using alternating chapters to give readers an intimate glimpse of each woman's struggles. Single-mom Neve's son wants to know more about his father, but Neve has hidden the truth her son is the product of a whirlwind affair with a married man. Flick's marriage is threatened by her husband's decision to begin transitioning after years of secretly cross-dressing. Emma has been struggling with anger toward her ex-husband, who left her for a much younger woman, and her financial and health issues exacerbate the situation. When Neve locates her ex-lover in New York City, the women take the trip of a lifetime, but when each woman's truth is revealed, she must face the consequences of her actions. Johns' capable writing keeps the drama-heavy plot chugging along (though the treatment of transgender issues isn't always sensitive), and it's hard not to feel for her characters, whose actions and feelings in the face of crisis are realistic. Fans of emotional, issue-driven women's fiction will welcome Johns' U.S. women's fiction debut.--Donohue, Nanette Copyright 2017 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Library Journal Review

Felicity, Neve, and Emma have been friends since their kids started at the same private school. They were the "misfit moms," with Felicity working as a taxidermist, Neve as a makeup artist, and Emma as a travel agent. They told one another everything, or so they thought. When Neve books a trip to New York City with an ulterior motive, -Felicity and Emma come along to shop, sightsee, and more. But soon, Neve confesses her motive for the trip, Felicity reveals the cracks in her marriage, and Emma discovers the mystery behind her chronic headaches. Johns (Jilted; The Patterson Girls) returns with a novel that readers will want to devour in one sitting. She crafts a slow burn of unfolding mysteries in alternating chapters among the three friends. Neve's past comes back to haunt her; Felicity's future cracks owing to decisions beyond her control; and Emma's present and future collide as she receives devastating health news and grapples with inappropriate feelings for her boss. The women learn to live, and to forgive, doing whatever it takes to stay united as friends. VERDICT This is an excellent character-driven novel, perfect for fans of Elizabeth LaBan and Melissa DePino's Pretty Little World and Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies.-Erin Holt, Williamson Cty. P.L., -Franklin, TN © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.